Golden Gate Coastal Trail Marathon-Sunday July 14th 2013

Image

So last Sunday I ran the GG trail marathon in the Marin headlands. It was a beautiful course taking in spectacular views and gaining an overall elevation of 4’840 feet in the marathon course. It was a tough course with alot of climbing for the first 6 miles really including yes…steps and stairs. And seeing that it was the same loop twice at least I knew what to expect from the half way mark onwards. It was definitely a race that made you work for it the whole way through.

Image

I guess what I didn’t expect was to place 3rd in my age group, what a wonderful surprise and I crossed the finish line in 5;02. The race was impeccably produced from start to finish the aid stations were stocked with not only real food and yummy treats but friendly and supportive people cheering everyone on.  It was definitely chillier than I had expected but  a great day and race. I will definitely be running more races with costal trails they were just superb. The course was clearly marked and the people running were just great I chatted with some people along the way and afterwards learned some new things but most of all this gave me the boost I needed to feel prepared for The North Face Endurance ultra in Dec and maybe ARC50 mile in april 2014…the world is my oyster who knows where I will end up running next, but I feel like nothing can stop me now.

I always get a lot of love out on the courses cuz of my hair ya know, everyone remembers me, so thanks to everyone who was giving me compliments along the way, heehee. And I also give alot of love too. Congrats everyone who finished in each distance on Sunday.

Image

Thanks to my wonderful supporters Paul – who never misses a finish line, and Desi, and for everyone who made Sundays race such a great experience for me.

Happy safe trails everyone.

Image

 

2 thoughts on “Golden Gate Coastal Trail Marathon-Sunday July 14th 2013

  1. Good Job Janey, on the blog and the run. Very cool to place on your very first ever trail marathon and a tough one at that. Loads of lovin’ and support from Allen and I, we just think you are the bee’s knee’s – keep it up, lady
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

