GO NUTS!!! Today is National Nut day-22nd oct

Hey hey

So pretty much every day has a national day and today is no different lets go nuts for..well nuts!!

Nuts have long had a bad rap for being high in fat and calories, prompting weight-conscious runners to relegate nuts to their lists of forbidden foods, however the more researchers take a closer look at walnuts, almonds, and other nuts, they’re discovering these delicious, crunchy foods are packed with vitamins, minerals, and antioxidants.

And that fat we were so wary of? Turns out it’s good for our hearts–and our running. HOORAY 🙂

I love to grab some almonds and a banana after having a shower after my run, it fills me up and feels great. Nuts in moderation I think work well but like with anything if you eat the whole jar…blah blah you know the lecture!!!

On endurance trail runs I have had some salted nuts, salt and fuel all in one, but always with a nice big gulp of water, be careful when nutting and running!!

And also if your hitting the trail mix it up with my homemade trail mix.

Here’s the quick recipe:

  • 1/4 cup whole shelled (unpeeled) almonds
  • 1/4 cup unsalted dry-roasted peanuts
  • 1/4 cup dried cranberries
  • 1/4 cup chopped pitted dates
  • 2 ounce dried apricots, or other dried fruit or dried mango
  • Handful of Sunflower seeds

I mean you can pretty much pop anything in your own but this is just my fav fuel, pop it when ready into a sealed jar or big zip lock bag and have it for the week, it keeps really well. Some people add choc but I’m not a big choc eater so I leave it out plus I like to keep it simple and quick.

happy running ya’ll!!!

 

Leave a Reply

