81 years old – Ed Whitlock….WOW!

This article is especially for my dad, who inspires me every day and who completed his first half marathon a few years back and now at age 74 he is literally fit as a fiddle. ( a young pup in comparison to Ed might I add!!).

He has battled illness etc in life, but he’s out pacing the roads at home in Ireland every day and braving every element weather wise he’s faced with, and put that with my mums strict eating and health freak-ness meals, they are a duo to be reckoned with. And in 2013 I am hoping for him and I to complete a half marathon together over here in the U.S 🙂 He is one of my biggest fans, thanks Dad.

So when I came across this article on Ed Whitlock, I just knew I had to dedicate it to my Dad, they are 2 men who inspire me.

Ed Whitlock, 81, just continues to set marathon world records and he set the world record for the fastest marathon by a 81+ runner on Oct 14th at the Scotiabank Toronto Waterfront Marathon.

Whitlock ran and incredible 3:30:26 marathon which shattered the existing record by more than 15 minutes. Whitlock went out a little faster than he would of liked by running the first 13.1 miles in 1:41:01. That was his split time…Holy S###T!!!!

Here is after crossing the finish line.

Whitlock is an inspiration to us all, lets never stop trying, breaking records and striving to be the best that we can be for ourselves. Let no boundaries fence us in and don’t let age define us.

If we keep on running through life, stoping to look around and appreciate  and embrace everything we pass on the way, hopefully we will all be wiser and all still be rocking out like Ed and my Dad into our 70’s, 80’s and beyond!!!

Happy running everyone.xx

2 thoughts on “81 years old – Ed Whitlock….WOW!

Leave a Reply

