For the love of running:)

“Every morning in Africa a gazelle wakes up. It knows it must move faster than the lion or it will not survive. Every morning a lion wakes up and it knows it must move faster than the slowest gazelle or it will starve. It doesn’t matter if you are the lion or the gazelle, when the sun comes up, you better be moving.” – Maurice Greene (attributed to Roger Bannister shortly after running the first sub-4 mile)

 

I love to run..

SImple.

I dedicate this blog to simply me, why I run and my love of running.

I love to run for the feeling it gives me. Running makes me strong inside and out. I have a deep love affair with running and I am lucky enough to have a partner who is willing to share…me…with it.

I love to run because of the feeling I get at the start of a race, waiting, wondering… and then off I go. I love the finish…the finish line…its the end but its….the beginning of a new goal…of a new PR….of a new set of goals that I want to achieve.

I love to run because it pushes me to be better, to aim higher, to be fearless…to love myself…to believe in me, my body and my strength.

I love to run for the confidence it gives me that I take off the road and trails and into my everyday life. I miss running when I have to have a rest day 😦 

Running has allowed me to fall in love with myself, I love to be this fit, I love that running has made me a lean machine!! I love the people I meet when I run, I love the experiences I have both good and bad when I run.

I love the doors running has opened for me and the opportunities it has given me (SFM shout out sign up its june 16th!!)

I love heading off on a running adventure not knowing how long I will run for but always having a pair of runners (running shoes!!) with me in my car or the truck just incase the mood takes me wherever life takes me. Wherever I end up, I may have to run!! But all this running has caused me to slow down….I know that seems like a direct contradiction but YES…running has slowed me down…and all the endless hours on my feet running have allowed me think about life and how it can pass you by and how trivial things can consume the mind…don’t run away from those thoughts…deal with them…set them free….slow down….and then off you go to another trail…another turn…another adventure.

They say…we don’t stop playing because we get old…we get old because we stop playing…well I am never gona be old becuase of that. Play every day, love every day, love you, love me…love life…love to run…find “YOUR” run…and sometimes just love…because!!

Happy running and happy valentines day:)

2 thoughts on “For the love of running:)

Leave a Reply

