I do run run run, I do run run!!:)

Ah so with the NVM impending and tapering almost here (hooray!!for a little down time) I am preparing myself to run this marathon without music. It will be the first time I have been forced to actually run without music. On my long runs and ultra training I often run with music then turn it off for 10-15 miles then turn it back on etc, to mix it up. But NVM strictly prohibits any kind of audio, earbuds or music. So as 2300 runnings including myself take to the roads and vineyards…for the NVM we will be “going it alone” so to speak.

I feel suprisingly anxious about running an entire 26.2 with only my own thoughts and music I have compiled in my head!!hehehehe. I find silence therapeutic on my longer runs thats true, but I also find certain songs,a pick me up , that I need at certain times on the course so, I guess I will have to embrace my own creativity and visualisation to combat any tough areas I may encounter on this race! Plus I also enjoy getting lost in music as I roam through 26.2 miles of scenery. I look forward to this new challenge.

I am excited to be forced to do this though because I guess its like anything you get in a comfort zone with, its important to try new things, tweak issues and embrace new possibly better ways of running. Plus its one less thing to worry about prepping the night before:)

Can music make you a better runner?? Probably not, well directly anyway. It may affect how fast or slow you run at times, although this could be argued that “getting lost” in music causes you to get out of the zone and thus as a knock on affect fall into a pace that is happening unknown to you, as your not fully focused. I think we have all probably been a victim of this, both resulting in  fast and/or slow runs.

I understand how a good song may alleviate the boredom of a long marathon training run, take the edge off one’s suffering during a brutal interval session, or add a layer of pure enjoyment to an easy recovery jog, SO I guess the benefits are what “you” make them really.

We have to listen to our brain.

How can mere sounds boost a person’s physical endurance? The answer to this question has to do with the brain’s role in physical performance. Exercise scientists used to believe that fatigue occurred when the muscles or cardiorespiratory system hit some kind of hard physiological limit. For example, the muscles became so acidic that they stopped working properly.

But now It is now understood that such limits are never reached. Instead, the brain imposes fatigue before these limits are reached to protect the body from serious harm. Thank you brain!!

Because the brain essentially chooses to impose fatigue based on a prediction of where the body’s true physiological limits lie, the brain has some flexibility in setting performance limits. When an athlete is highly motivated, the brain will risk a bit more and allow the body to come a little closer to the point of self-harm in pursuit of better performance. All kinds of factors may influence an athlete’s level of motivation, and music appears to be one of them.

Everyone finds their own ‘zen’ and I am hoping to find mine out on the hills and roads of napa on March 3rd. I anticipate I will discover my own “music” so to speak, and hopefully it will bring me rolling into a new PR.

Happy running and stay dry:)

One thought on “I do run run run, I do run run!!:)

  1. Very interesting Janey and with your musical talents you will be well able to have lot of music in your head during NVM and I dare say even sing as you run. Thats my daughter

Leave a Reply

