Home made energy bars.

I throw these together in the house, they keep really well and you can freeze them and I find that they are sometimes more effective and tastier than the ones you buy. Plus they work out cheaper in the long run (pun intended!!!)

I have problems with fueling sometimes, that leaves me having to vomit either after a long run or mid way, so finding the right fueling and perfecting it (which I haven’t managed just yet, I am still experimenting, but almost there!!) is really important. You burn so many calories long running and I don’t love sweet things at the best of times, so often the energy bars are very intense and make my tummy really ill. Which is grand if I’m sitting at home but when I’m 15 miles from my house its not ideal!!

These bars are great, however. I keep the sugar content fairly low but if you like sweet, add more and I looooove oats so I pop a bit more in than is probably normal!!This recipe is a good guideline but its so easy that you can, more or less, really whatever you want – fruit and nut and sugar wise.

Give it a try and let me know what ya think.

Banana Oat Energy Bars / Makes 10-12/ Calories per bar: approx 120

What you’ll need:
2 very overripe bananas
½ cup vegetable oil/low fat butter melted
1/2 cup artificial sweetner/brown sugar/natural sweeterner/honey 🙂
½ tsp vanilla extract
1 ½ cup rolled oats
¾ cup flour (I use whole wheat flour but ya can use white both work grand)
¾ tsp baking powder
¼ tsp baking soda
½ tsp salt
½ tsp cinnamon
½ tsp nutmeg
¾ cup toasted chopped walnuts
¾ cup dried cranberries
(Use your choice of nuts and dried fruit as substitutes, seeds etc everything kinda works)

How to make it:
1.    Preheat oven to 350, grease 8×9’’ baking pan
2.    In a mixing bowl, mash bananas. Mix with sugar, oil and vanilla extract until smooth.
3.    In a separate mixing bowl, combine baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, flour and oats.
4.    Add banana mixture to oat mixture, mix until just combined.
5.    Fold in walnuts and cranberries, careful not to overmix.
6.    Pour mixture into baking pan, and spread evenly. Bake for 20 minutes or until the top is browned and a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean. Allow to cool completely before cutting. AND there ya have it 🙂

The recipe is easy, it’s vegan, and the results taste good enough to serve as a dessert. Just pop a little banana-oat wedge in a Ziploc, and you’re ready to fuel your next long run. So I hope they keep ya fueled on your runs this weekend.

Enjoy. 🙂

One thought on “Home made energy bars.

Leave a Reply

