Back from my sabattical!!! North face endurance 50km recap

Well better late than never, sooo much has been going on I am only getting bag in the blogging game now. Happy new year to everyone and hope all your new year goals are in full swing.

Well on Dec 7th 2013 I ran the North face endurance 50km ultra in 5 degree celius weather. Buuuuuuuuuuuuuuurrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr. I braved it like so many others in long sleeves and yes…shorts!!

Image

Unfortunately the ol down vest did not accompany me on my journey;( As you would expect from any NF race it was meticulously planned and marked out and absolutely relentless, not for the faint hearted or for the odd few who didn’t put in any training and decided they’d give it a go. I mean at the beginning Dean Karnazes said “and how many people are running their forst ultra today”???, two hands went up!!!So judge from that.

The elevation was over total 7800ft and it never stopped all the way to the finish. I had an absolute blast and came in over the finish line in 7 hours. I met some amazing faces along the way and got alot of love, as always on the trails from my fellow ultra runners. I am always so amazed at the camaraderie and once again at what my body can do. When I was finished I was freezing omg I never took my gloves off at all entire race.

I got to see and get a good luck from Dean Karnazes…wuhooo hes shorter than I always thought!!!heheehee

Image

The terrain was tough the distance was tough the elevation was ALWAYS THERE is the only way to put it, and at the finish line was as always my adoring husband and biggest supporter and Matt, Jess and the kids my tiny supporters. What a race, what an accomplishment and what news I have for you next.

Image

Image

Happy as always!!!

Check out my next blog to find out my next big endurance event!!!…..

 

Happy trails everyone.xxxxx

One thought on “Back from my sabattical!!! North face endurance 50km recap

Leave a Reply

